Academic Calendar

PLATEAU STATE UNIVERSITY, BOKKOS

OFFICE OF THE VICE CHANCELLOR

ACADEMIC PLANNING UNIT
Proposed Academic Calendar 2018/2019 Session

FIRST SEMESTER

Friday 19th April –Mon. 22nd April,2019          -            Good Friday / Easter Break.

Tuesday 23rd April ,2019                                   -            Commencement of On-line Registration for Fresh Students

Monday 29th April, 2019                                 -             Commencement of Registration for Returning Students

Monday 6th May ,2019                                    -            Commencement of First Semester Lectures for all Students

Monday 6th May – Fri. 17th May, 2019           -            Period of late Registration   

Friday 17th May, 2019                                        -            Registration closes 2:00pm for all students

Wed. 22nd May – Fri. 24th May, 2019              -           Orientation for fresh students                       

Thursday 6th June, 2019                                  -            Matriculation of Fresh Students

Saturday 10th August, 2019                            -            End of First Semester Lectures          

Monday 12th August, 2019                             -            Commencement of First Semester Examination

Wednesday 28th August, 2019                        -            End of First Semester Examinations

Monday 9th September, 2019                         -            Commencement of Industrial Attachment

Tues 3rd Sep. – Fri. 6th Sep., 2019                   -            Department and Faculty Boards meet to consider first Semester Examination Results

Wednesday 11th September, 2019                 -            Examination Results Scrutiny Committee sits.

Tuesday 24th September, 2019                       -            Senate meets to consider and approve first Semester Examination Results

SECOND SEMESTER

Monday 16th September, 2019                       -            Commencement of Second Semester Lectures        

Mon. 23rd Dec 2019 – Sat. 4th Jan 2020          -           Christmas Break

Monday 6th January, 2020                              -            University Reopens from Christmas Break/Revision

Saturday 11th January,2020                            -            End of Second Semester Lectures

Monday 13th January, 2020                            -            Commencement of Second Semester Examination

Wednesday 29th January, 2020                      -            End of Second Semester Examination                                 

Tuesday 4th Feb. – Fri. 7th Feb., 2020              -            Departments and Faculty Boards meets to consider Sessional Results

Tuesday 18th Feb., - Fri. 21st Feb., 2020          -            Examination Results Scrutiny Committee sits

Tuesday 25th February, 2020                          -            Senate meets to consider and approve Sessional Results (Excluding 300 Level SIWES Departments)

Saturday 7th March, 2020                               -            End of Industrial Attachment

 

 

Prof. Bulus N. Gyang

Director, Academic Planning Unit

 

SUMMARY ANALYSIS OF THE ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2018/2019 SESSION

FIRST SEMESTER

2 weeks of registration

14 weeks of Lectures

2 ½ weeks of Examinations

3 ½ weeks of Marking & Approval of Results

 

Total 22 weeks

 

SECOND SEMESTER

15 weeks of Lectures

2 ½ weeks of Examinations

2 weeks of Christmas Break

3 ½ weeks of Marking & Approval of Results.

 

Total 23 weeks

Industrial attachment ends a week after Senate Meeting to approve Results, giving 46-weeks Session.